Nothing Ventured Nothing Gained

IMG_4413

Wailua Sugar Mill

 

FullSizeRender

The road to Wailua

I went over to Wailua this week. I had to pick up dog food . I noticed  sign to a nursery. It was behind the sugar mill. So I thought I would explore it as I had been thinking about finding a nursery for some seeds.

IMG_4421Lokahi Nursery

It was just a small five-minute walk through from one end of the nursery to the other if you were counting time. But it was packed with roses, herbs and native plants.
A young girl was kneeling down working on some plants. She was the owner of the nursery and was a wealth of information.

What started out as curiosity for me turned out to be a shopping trip for a new rose, several herbs, a gardenia and pikake.(Jasmin)

FullSizeRender

 

 

FullSizeRender

 

FullSizeRender
I also picked up the above three herbs called Tulsi basil.They are of the Tulsi family but  I can’t remember what their individual names were.  I was told that they are very good tea herbs that are considered some of the best among health teas. Can’t hurt, so I am trying to grow them now.

If you would like, you can read about the herb here  http://layoga.com/food-home/herbs-spice/growing-holy-tulsi/
The owner also offered to take a large cutting from my Aloha rose. ( the same rose cuttings that caddie ate. The cuttings  were just beginning to sprout.) she is going to  sprout them for me. I am so happy as I have never been successful after the caddie  incident.

I just love it when I find these unexpected places. It’s just a matter of taking a drive down the unknown path. Yes and I gain a lot.

 

3 comments on “Nothing Ventured Nothing Gained

  1. dunelight says:

    I love a good nursery. With the warmer temps here I long to get out in the dirt.

    Like

  2. Paulina says:

    I love reading about Hawaii on your blog. I was hoping to contact you over email to ask you some questions, would you mind emailing me whenever you have a chance? Thank you!

    Like

  3. What a great find! You have such wonderful adventures and make such great discoveries. The nursery looks so interesting…makes me start to think about growing things again. lol….thanks for sharing your journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

