Of Pigs and Rocks and Crabs in the Sand

There is so much to know about making a luau. None of which I can even begin to tell you. My son called me and asked if I wanted to go out to Waianae to visit his cousin Kaipo. Oh Yes! I love to visit with him. He has so many stories about the Hawaiian side of his family and it’s never a dull moment around him.

Then my son said were going to go to Makaha to the beach so that Kaipo can show the kids how to find rocks for the imu. The imu is the pit that the pig is roasted in with special types of rocks and this was what we were going to look for. 3372289796_2c776f7d98_bI’ve shown this photo in another blog but I thought it would help to illustrate how they put the rock inside of the pig and then into the hot rocks into the ground which is the imu. There is much more preparation then that but in the interest of time and my brain that has forgotten most of it I think you will get the picture.IMG_0646Here is Kaipo checking out something in the water. I imagine this is where he looks for the rocks. And do you know why I have to imagine? Well once we got there I forgot to pay attention as I could not stop taking photos. So needless to say, I don’t have a photo of the rocks..

IMG_0671I think  you would be distracted too if this was your view.

Then I thought I should go and listen to what they are saying as they gathered around Kaipo. So I walk over to where they all gathered and my son tells me, “I’m glad your taking photos. Can you make sure to get Laʻkea on the boogie board. Well so much for learning anything.

IMG_0669Gathering around Kaipo and I have no idea what they are talking about.

IMG_0637Donʻt ask me  but it looks interesting

IMG_0718So I start photographing. Once again my grandson Laʻakea is in the water catching waves

IMG_0720This one broke too soon and he tried to make it to shore before it got him

IMG_0721Hmmm, not sure if he is going to make it

IMG_0722Well he caught some of it and finely made it into shore

IMG_0728Time to take a rest

IMG_0714And my younger grandson Nico is learning to ride the waves and his father is teaching him. What a way to spend the day with your dad.

IMG_0670I turn around and everyone is searching the sand. Again Iʻm clueless. soon someone comes over and shows me the glass they had gathered for my daughter who likes to collect it.

IMG_0653So what is Cody looking for?

IMG_0673Well he may not have found anything in the coral but he certainly found a crab in the sand.IMG_0647As I looked around I found this memorial. Iʻm not sure but since this is inlaid into the coral Iʻm thinking he might have been killed while fishing. A lot of memorials go up at the beach where fishermen have been taken into the water by high waves and drowned.

So we say good-by to Kaipo and the gang no wiser about luau rock then I was. But, you know crabs live in the sand, kids love the waves and I need to quit being distracted by my camera.

There is a Kalua coming up and they will be digging an imu, roasting a pig and most definitely there will be luau rock. If I can keep my attention on the imu, I will then get a photo of the rock, thatʻs if we donʻt end up at the beach.

3 comments on “Of Pigs and Rocks and Crabs in the Sand

  1. Oh so lucky to have a Luau…and the beautiful beaches of Hawaii…looks like a wonderful day.

    Like

  2. eliveleth2013 says:

    Love your stories about Hawaii and the traditions. Love the pictures of your family too. Love you! Aunt Velta

    Like

Leave a Reply

