Tea In My Garden

I’ve been out of commission for a couple of months (to be blogged later) My garden went to pot. I cried because there was not a whole lot I could do about it. Now I’m getting back on track and I’ve been putting many an hour in and it seems my garden is very happy for it.

The one plant I’ve really given attention to is my Hibiscus tree.

IMG_3201Now I can hear some of you saying, “Hibiscus?” That is just an ugly weed! Not so fast and too loud. I don’t want my tree to hear. My hibiscus has been perking up with all the attention and does not look like an ant colony anymore.

Why would I care about a hibiscus? Well I do like the flowers, and yes because it is like a weed it grows quite fast. Especially when you water it. (yes I still feel bad about that) But most of all this is why I love this tree.

IMG_2394Hibiscus Iced Tea

We’re in the middle of a tsunami of humidity and I’m ready for a big glass of this. Since I’ve been watering my Hibiscus it is now blooming on my side of the garden and not just over the fence for my neighbor to enjoy. (she made the tea also.)

Now I’ll share this with you. (and only those of you who love your tree)

I was given this recipe from a friend. I really like it. Try it too and have a nice fresh cold one. Bottoms up!

Hibiscus Iced Tea

a quart and a half of boiling water,

12 hibiscus steeped for 20 minutes ( I added some rooibos tea, 2 TBS)

when steeped I put 3 tbsp German Rock Sugar

4 tsp lime juice

a thumb size piece of grated ginger

let it all sit for another hour.

It originally is made with honey but I was all out.

Another blessing from my garden waiting to get ripe. No recipe needed just cut and enjoy.

PapayaPapaya

6 comments on “Tea In My Garden

  1. Hibiscus tree is a weed? Lucky you, in my place you are lucky if you get a tiny one to survive in the living room. Good gardening, that is life!

    Like

    • Well the hibiscus here love the heat and we’ve got plenty of that all year long. When these plants grow and they grow in very dry areas they look pretty sad. When they get watered they look beautiful in my opinion. People who live in dry areas or hot areas also dislike the hibiscus.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

      Like

  2. Jodie Gracey says:

    YUM!

    Like

  3. Haunani says:

    What a happy looking hibiscus and such mouth watering papaya! Love your post, inspires me to get out in the yard

    Like

Leave a Reply

