Hey Kids Let’s Go Ride a Horse. Equine 808

IMG_0331

The sharp crevices cut into the mountain range where I live has been a topic of a few of my blogs. The range  shelters the sun as it sets into the west leaving me staring from my window as it turns gold, orange, mauve and colors I can’t even identify.

DSCN0088

The range follows me as I drive up the long road to the north shore. It is shrouded either in clouds, rain or bright blue skies.

DSCN1128

Why the mountain range even gives a beautiful backdrop to my nemesis Monsanto as they plant all their Frankinseed crops.

family

family

This mountain is a ceaseless source of beauty for me and I’ve turned into it many a time to go to my post office or the nursery where I buy vegetables and plants

DSCN0113

There has been many a time when I’ve traveled up Kunia Road and I’ve seen this sign. But I’ve never turned in to see what it was all about until one day at my grandson’s school a couple whose child went to the same school invited anyone who would like to come and visit there and see what they were about. So I did.

DSCN0119

Turning into the mountain I watched the farmer working his field and wondered. His crops were planted within a stones throw of Monsanto’s fields.

DSCN0118

 

DSCN0092

Looking down from the mountain range into the fields for the horses and onto the farms and Monsanto. Off into the distance you can see Diamond Head just past Pearl Harbor. Not only was the mountain range beautiful to look up to but just as beautiful to look down from.

DSCN0091This was the road we traveled on to get up to the horses. When I got home the car was a totally different color. Talk about mad woman washing. I sure didn’t want my daughter to see the car and ask where I had been. She does not like my trips off the beaten path. Not to mention the beaten car.

DSCN0099

Here is one of the friendly faces that greeted us.

 

 

DSCN0100

This little guy was the companion of the above horse I believe. Not only do they rescue horses but there is a large population of Donkeys and mules that are also rescued on the islands.

DSCN0111

These guys have a great view of the mountain range too. Lucky stiffs.

DSCN0112And another view

DSCN0097I poked my head in everywhere. This tack room looked like a work of art to me

DSCN0106My main reason for going up into this mountain to check out these rescued horses was to try to interest my grandson in horseback riding. One of the ways that this foundation earns money is by giving riding lessons. Now what kid doesn’t like horses? Actually I think the question should be, what grandmother does not realize that not everyone is like her? Oh well. This is where the kids wanted to stay. Looking at the goats. None of them wanted to go near the horses. But at least I got to take a closer look into my beloved mountain range and pet a few horses into the bargain too.

 

9 comments on “Hey Kids Let’s Go Ride a Horse. Equine 808

  1. Puffin says:

    Such beautiful pictures, takes me back, wish I was there with you……but you made it possible through your blog for me to be.

    Like

  2. Barb says:

    Pretty pictures from your adventure in Paradise! I love seeing Oahu from another view.

    Like

    • Thank you Barb. It’s my life and what goes on around me. Lots of people think of Hawaii as just beaches and sunshine. But it’s more then that. It is living like any other place but only it’s in paradise. 🙂

      Like

  3. A wonderful post, Karen. For the past 10 minutes while I was reading it I felt like I was instantly transported to Hawaii along Kunia Road and into the mountains with you. The photos and the perspective from which you captured them are great! It’s nice for me to finally be back and be able to catch up with all you’ve been doing. A hui you kakou 🙂

    Like

  4. Jodie Gracey says:

    Enjoyed your photos and info as always.

    Like

  5. Dean michael greer says:

    Thank you, dear sis, for sharing your wonderful adventure, with words and photos that only you can deliver. Your grand kids are blessed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

