A WORD FROM OUR SPONSOR: MAY DAY IS LEI DAY IN HAWAII

While I’m working up the energy to finish my Merrie Monarch postings I thought I would just post some photos I took today of my grandson’s Lei Day Activities at his school. Most schools in Hawaii put on a big Hawaiian pageant on this day and Kaleiopuu Elementary School was no exception.

The teachers went all out and put their heart and soul into this event and the kids looked beautiful and performed perfectly. I hope you enjoy this little break with photos and I won’t interrupt until next time.

Oh, and my grandson is not in any of these photos.

THE HIGH CHIEF OR KING AND HIS COURT ARRIVE

IMG_1314

 

IMG_1315

 

IMG_1317

 

IMG_1318

 

IMG_1320

 

IMG_1321

 

IMG_1323

 

IMG_1326

 

IMG_1328

 

IMG_1331

 

IMG_1335

 

IMG_1337

:

 

6 comments on “A WORD FROM OUR SPONSOR: MAY DAY IS LEI DAY IN HAWAII

  1. Dan Brown says:

    Brings back fond memories of the Lei Day celebrations of my childhood at Aliiolani School in Honolulu 60 years ago — but this was much more spectacular than ours. I know these kids will remember their childhood Lei Day celebrations when they are old like me. Thank you, Karen, for sharing your pictures of the beautiful pageantry and color!

    Like

    • Thank you for that nice comment I’m glad that you like the photos. Yes this was quite elaborate I must say the teachers really put in a lot of work and it really showed

      Sent from my iPhone

      Like

  2. Really wonderful pictures, Karen. Must have been a great day!

    Like

  3. docrickets says:

    The day we banish our cultural traditions, will also be the day the family structure crashes to the ground.

    Like

    • Their is a push me, pull me problem with the May day Program for this particular school. It is supposed to have 300 kids but because the developer who built the houses in the area where we live did not build the schools he was supposed to we now have 1,000 kids in the school!

      Now in order to put on this particular program which has been a tradition in Hawaii for school kids for many years it is a major undertaking for Kaleiopuu to do. Because of the amount of kids they take much needed class time away in order to practice and put this program together. The compromise was to do it every other year. I don’t want to see the program abandoned but then I know Nico, who is struggling in school needs that class time more. Bottom line, I blame it on the developer, Horita, who claimed bankruptcy in order to get out of building the schools. He is now back in business building more homes. And where is he going to build them? In our next increment! Stupid people for letting him get away with this.

      Thanks for the comment Don.

      Like

Leave a Reply

