Mayday at Bishop Museum

With the sound of the conch shell blowing the May Day court is called.

 

All of the volunteers at Bishop Museum are gathered to watch the May Day Court proceed. We are invited here to be entertained and served lunch in thanks for our service. The first of May had been called Lei Day since 1929 at which time it was started to keep the tradition of the Lei alive. Lei Day

The court lines up. Each color representing an island. Let the procession begin

The Conch Shell is blown once more to start the procession towards him

The Kahili bearers come down next bearing Kahili’s normally made of feathers, but for this day it is all fresh flowers.

The King and Queen of the day come down lastThe King and Queen are presented before the court

The Queen dances for us

The traditional May pole Dance.

Which would you prefer? I think I will take the May- day Court and the Hula over a May Pole any day.

If  you are counting, sorry I did not get good photos of all the island representatives. There was more to add but for some reason I had lots of problems with my posting today. So I will close and hope everyone had as colorful a day as I did here in the islands.

 

16 comments on “Mayday at Bishop Museum

  1. Janice says:

    They are beautiful photos. What a lovely celebration. I went to a very touristy luau when I was on Oahu and this brings back memories of that for me – but with additional layers of meaning for you and the other participants.

    Like

  2. Lara Britt says:

    Reblogged this on Writing Space and commented:
    I have an post still in draft form May Day is Lei Day in Hawaii. Slowly I’m leaking all of its content into other posts that I’m more satisfied with. Karen is a fellow docent at The Bishop Museum. She is a much better photographer with a much better camera. Hence, enjoy the reblog of her post.

    Like

  3. Lara Britt says:

    I’m a docent at the Bishop Museum as well. And May Day/Lei Day is my birthday. So it was a special treat for me. So lucky it fell on a Tuesday this year. Too bad it doesn’t every year. That was a lot of interdepartmental bonding going on. How fun!

    Like

    • Lara, sorry it’s taken me so long to get back. I’ve only been checking on my phone and I’m still in the process of working on blogs. Thank you so much for sharing my post. I’ve been enjoying reading your blog also. I’ll leave comments when I get the chance. Have to run and get my grandson.

      Like

  4. Sartenada says:

    How lovely. Your wonderful photos got me the feeling that I was there too. Thank You for this post.

    Like

  5. What a beautiful day, such glorious colours and what a wonderful ceremony to experience.

    Like

    • You know it was a great day and then I came home and the Boxer and Sheepdog got into a big fight again. I just fell apart. I guess, into one’s life a little rain must fall. But with these two dogs it always seems to be storming.

      Like

      • That would certainly put a dampener on your day, every now and then our two have a spat and I find it quite upsetting. It is hard to know what to do in that situation, wish I could help but you probably need to make notes about what happened leading up to the fight and then talk to a behaviourist 😦

        Like

  6. megtraveling says:

    It looks like a beautiful day and ceremony! Your pictures are really vivid. Nice post!

    Like

  7. Thank you for taking a look Sheila. Yes it was colorful as are many of the celebrations here in the island. I just need to get out more to photograph them.

    Like

  8. Hi Karen. Rituals and traditions around the world is very important. I did not know this, of course, and very interesting to see. And many great photos, like the Queen dancing.

    Like

  9. Thanks, Karen, for sharing! A very beautiful observance. The May pole dance is very colorful. But more so is the tradition! Love the photo of the queen dancing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

