Let the season begin, Hula, Christmas Shoppers and Pearlridge Hawaii

Pearlridge Shopping Center is gearing up for shoppers

I’m no fool. I don’t go near shopping centers during the holiday season. I get my shopping done early or on-line. But this year I had to do some unexpected purchasing and so headed into the fray. “Just take it minute by minute” I told myself as I drove into Pearlridge parking lot.

“You always find a space” I repeated as I went up the down staircase, totally mixed up as to what way to go. But I did find a space as a man signaled to me that he was pulling out and for me to wait. After getting out of the car I headed toward the center, through the maze of drivers still going in circles.

“I’m crazy” I thought as I headed down the escalator.  “I should be at home with the dogs and a good book.” But I took a deep breath and just as I got to the bottom of the second floor I forgot all about the crowds, parking, my dogs and books as I took in all of the action going on.

Only in Hawaii of course. I doubt you would see this anywhere else during this manic shopping season. Quickly I pulled out my handy, dandy camera and started taking photos to share. I’ve been so busy this past two months I’ve neglected my blog for which I’m sorry. But I knew everyone would enjoy seeing these.

Waiting her turn to entertain the crowds. Calm and composed.

The colors are rich and the children are adorable

Taking photos was very difficult as kids were moving every which way. They were practicing their hula and so bodies were swaying and of course I could not get my camera to work properly. At least that is my excuse. It sounds better than the truth which is I don’t know how to adjust it.

This young girl was practicing her Tahitian as can be seen by the blurring

  Some were still adjusting their outfits

Calm, a real professional

Traditional Hula and updated Christmas trees

After my photo session I felt elated. I was energized. Heading into the crowd with a smile on my face  I thought, boy it’s nice to live in Hawaii. Let the season begin.

4 comments on “Let the season begin, Hula, Christmas Shoppers and Pearlridge Hawaii

  1. Velta Maes says:

    We need to give thanks for all the good things that happen at Christmas. All the lights, decorations, people and kids. I don’t go out much either, but I really enjoyed your trek to the shopping mall. Thanks for sharing the season with us.

    Like

  2. Annelies says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading your blog, as always!!

    Like

  3. Hey Toby, I have been following your foray into publishing. I will have to get the book. What an accomplishment. Congratulations.

    Like

  4. Toby says:

    Great one Karen!
    Pop by my blog at http://tobyneal.net to see my new book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

