Halaus and Art at Bishop Museum

Happy faces and wonderfully behaved children visited the museum today. At least in this instance. In the Kahili Room I met these children who are visiting from the island of Kauai to dance in a hula festival tomorrow at the Hilton Hawaiian Village.

They were doing a self guided tour so I took the opportunity to tell them about the Little Prince, Albert and his Kahili. (See Prince Albert to read about him) They listened attentively and were a pleasure to talk to.

Halau Na Hula O Kapulani with their Kumu Hula, Kapu Kinimaka Alquiza (top left)  From Hanapepe Kauai

Artist David Kalama working on a piece. Kukailimoku

This young man was very interested in the piece that David was working on. We all love it when he comes to the museum to work on the Ku. His work is stunning and amazingly life-like. He sits for hours and patiently works. He answers all the curious onlookers and even us docents who can’t help but look over his shoulder are tolerated.

Here is his website and you must take a look you will be very, very impressed with his talent, eye and skill that emanates from his work. What a pleasure having him at the museum. So my morning was a great one. David Kalama

Then my teens showed up. They were a hard audience. Eighteen kids who were to have an hour tour. Great. That was what I liked because a 25 minute tour is never enough time to go through the three floors of exhibits. But from the get go half of them were going off on their own.

They did not seem to care about anything I talked about. A few faithfully followed and asked questions. There was nothing I could do to keep the 18 to pay attention. I was taken back to my time in high school in my history class when my eyes would roll when we sat there listening to the teacher grinding out the facts. Seeing the boredom in these  faces made me even more tongue-tied.

By the time that we got up to the third floor I would say Three fourths of them were leaning over the railing, their teacher not seeming to even notice.  So I just gave a private tour to maybe five  kids out of the eighteen. But those five cared. They asked good questions and made intelligent comments.

By the time I finished that tour, my throat hurt, my foot was aching and I just wanted to go home. I got home let out the dogs, quickly drove to the school and picked up Nico and thought to myself it is a three-day weekend, no more kids, questions or eyes rolling.

As Nico got into the car we drove off to the bank he  started; Grandma why can’t we just walk in the front of people and quickly get  out of here? Then at Fed Ex, Grandma, why are you sending that box to someone? What happened to the printer, how do you know it’s broken? And so into the evening it went. But now I sit here by myself, Nico’s gone off to his other grandma’s house, Chris is out shopping and I’m surrounded by the three dogs. Life was good today and it is right now. Maybe I’ll go and get me something to eat. Not having to cook? The best pleasure of all.

Leave a Reply

