Waipahu Sugar Plantation Village

 This particular series is from another blog I have and thought that those of you who have not seen it would enjoy reading about the Plantation Village

Part 1 of The Waipahu Plantation Village

The clock says 10 AM. I’ve got till 1:30 before picking up my grandson at school. Last minute I decide to tour the Plantation Village fifteen minutes from my house. My car winds down the short curvy road and descends into the parking lot. I head for the office to pay for the tour.

As she hands me my ticket, the woman at the desk takes me to a small curtained area and turns on a TV and puts in a video that’s she suggest I watch before I take my tour.

The clock is ticking and I’m getting cold sitting in the air-conditioned area. Since I am familiar with what the tape is talking about I decide to take a look around the museum before the tour guide takes us out to the houses.

As I leave the video area the guide approaches me and we join the other tourist waiting to take the tour. I’m happy as he enters the museum as I was afraid I would not have time to see it after we finished our tour.

But as it turned out we were given a lecture on the order in which the immigrants came to Hawaii. Now I have nothing against that, it was just that the clock was ticking and I was not sure we would make it to the village itself before I had to leave as we stayed in the museum for half an hour.

I snapped these photos of the clothing that the sugar workers wore into the fields as the lecture went on

Perhaps these are a container for water and a lunch pail. The guide didn’t know as he started to lead us out of the museum and I didn’t have time to read any signs

I had to make the choice take photos or listen as we were moving out of the museum. I snapped photos as we quickly exited out.

The fabrics for these gowns worn in the 1920’s were quite beautiful. I thought that the immigrants that worked in the fields had no money because it all went to the company store. So I’m not sure if these were actually worn by the immigrant brides. I didn’t have time to look at the information on the gowns.

Detail on one of the gowns

Chinese immigrants who would soon be working in the sugar cane fields

A Chinese Immigrant family

Then there were the Hawaiians who were taken from their lands only to become laborers for the sugarcane growers who managed to take over.

The Hawaiians were once superb agriculturist. Captain Cook was impressed with how large and healthy their plants grew. When the plantations sprang up they told the Hawaiians that they needed to learn the American farmers way of growing food as they thought the Hawaiians were ignorant barbarians. Aside from being fabulous farmers, Hawaiians had the highest literacy rate in the world during the 1800’s. Far from being barbarians.

So after almost an hour we finely leave the museum and head out to the village. I’m finely going to see the insides of the houses.

To be continued. We head out into the light.

If you would like to get information on the Village here is the site address http://www.hawaiiplantationvillage.org/

6 comments on “Waipahu Sugar Plantation Village

  1. […] } Historical articles and illustrationsHow FED works?The TOP Six Boutique Hotels in Dallas for 2011Waipahu Sugar Plantation Village […]

    Like

  2. toby says:

    Very interesting!

    Like

  3. Evelyn says:

    Thank you for sharing this Karen! I’ve been meaning to go there but you know how that can be when everybody is trying to find other things for you to do. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

