Taro Festival Part Three

Martha Stewart Does Not Have A Monopoly On A “Good Thing”

I had been in a hurry to get to the festival that morning. I quickly had a cup of coffee and off I drove. If this was a true festival I knew there would be lots of food to buy so I wasn’t going to waste time eating breakfast.

The very first thing that they offered were, free samples of Poi. Of course. What would a Taro Festival be without poi? I picked up a sample and was tempted to just stay there and eat each one but not wanting to look like a glutton I moved on.

Poi Samples

As I started to move through the crowd I noticed a tent full of plants. I can’t help but check out plants where ever I go. I love gardening but lately with taking care of the new puppy all my plants are suffering as I have not even been able to water them. But I could not help myself so I went over to the tent to see what their offerings were.

Indigenous plant of Hawaii

It was filled with indigenous plants of Hawaii. I was delighted. I have been reading about the state trying to encourage planting Hawaiian plants as they are much better for the environment and grow well, of course, in our weather conditions. I’ve slowly been adding them to the garden but they can be quite expensive so I have not bought to many of them.

But here at this festival they were quite reasonable. So I picked up a few stocks of sugar cane. This is quite a weedy looking plant when full grown but I thought it would look nice as  a nice tall grass if I can find the right spot in the garden. Of course my garden is so overgrown there never is the right spot. But none the less I was optimistic.

Sugar Cane

I also picked up a Hilieʻe or Hawaiian White Plumbago commonly know as White Lead-wort. I was ecstatic when the plant seller offered me a free Hawaiian Ginger plant too. So this was turning out to be a great morning. I asked her to hold on to the plants until I was finished walking around. She secured them in the back of her tent and off I went. Here is a site to go to if you would like to see what the White Plumbago looks like Native Plants Hawaii – Viewing Plant : Plumbago zeylanica.

Of course their were the loose flowers being sold. The orchids are always my favorite to photograph.Red Ginger and Yellow Heliconia (I think)

Heliconia

A variety of Orchids

I just thought these eggplant were colorful so I took a photo of them

After taking in all the flowers I found a food booth. I chose the fresh Ono (fish) otherwise known as Wahoo. The fish was fried in a cornmeal batter. It was accompanied by a very good salad with homemade Pesto dressing.

These were the choice of Lunch plates. I chose the fried fish w/ brown rice ( in the middle)

After I picked up my plate lunch I went and sat under the entertainment tent. Usually I don’t like to go where ever music is playing in a public place. It seems that  the groups always compensate for whatever they are lacking in talent by turning up the speakers to loud.

But this group, called Kupaʻaina, were such a pleasant, well blending  and entertaining group. They sang many of the old Hawaiian songs that I enjoy. It was a wonderful way to enjoy a meal.

Kupaʻaina My lunch time entertainment

I had been at the festival for almost four hours. Reluctently I had to start to head home. My daughter had given me the morning off from taking care of the puppy. But as they say all good things must come to an end. I picked up my plants and started to head back to the car.

Yes, I must say that  my morning had definitely  been a good thing.

 

5 comments on “Taro Festival Part Three

  1. Frank Katusa says:

    Great blog. As a former teacher at Wahiawa Middle School, who also won second place at the Haleiwa Sea Spree Poi eating contest around 1970 I applaud you for keeping a blog like this. I was enamoured of Hawaiian culture when I first went there and still am. You are doing a good thing.
    BTw…four years ago I was with Ken at the Kealiiokamalu Church in Haleiwa and he told me that he was trying to get grant money to fix the church, I guess he did. I have known him for 40 years. Hopefully I will see him in October.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comments Frank. You are right, getting people out of Waikiki is so important. I’ve given many people the tour and it makes me feel really good when they are impressed with the beauty of the island. For myself it is a real job just to go and picnic in Waikiki. Like the saying goes, it isn’t very user friendly for people who live here.

      Yes, Kahu Ken got the grant. But it seemed he was doing a lot of the work himself with the help of his son. I understand the congregation is very small but one of these days I would like to attend just to hear it in Hawaiian. (though I don’t understand a word.) I take it you don’t live here anymore. I can’t imagine living anywhere else. I can see how you would miss it.

      Like

  2. Ed says:

    Hi Karen:
    Looks like you did a good job of moving on from Google. I really wanted to do the same thing but have now determined to spend all spare time at working my business instead. I have really neglected my blog but sometimes sacrifices must happen and thats what I must do for now. Your site looks nice and is easy to read and follow, but I think it’s because you’re such a good writer. I’ll do my best to keep up.
    Bye for now,
    e

    Like

  3. Sugar Cane is a plant. That is where sugar comes from. Hawaii was know for sugar cane in the 1800’s until recently when the industry closed down. It also took a lot of land away from the Hawaiian people and made the American plantation owners rich. Here is an article about it if you would like to read it.
    http://plantationlifehawaii.blogspot.com/

    I’m afraid you will have to cut and paste it on your address window as I can’t make it into a link here.
    Where did you find the Turkey Chile article? I don’t remember putting that into the blog.

    Like

  4. CAGATAY says:

    Mrs. Karen;

    Hawaiian native plants is very interesting.

    Sugar cane, what does it do? Do you have sugar cane alcoholic beverages?

    Red Ginger and Yellow Heliconia tropical flowers in Turkey as a sell flowers. Very expensive.

    Your variety of eggplants and carrots.

    “Turkey Chili” article I liked 🙂

    “”Kupaʻaina My lunch time entertainment”” Very nice.

    Very useful information. Thank you. Good day …

    Like

Leave a Reply

