Hula And the Family, Hula Oni E 2013

IMG_2011Youngsters really, step onto the stage, but when the chant begins you become enthralled. So confident, graceful and thrilling. As I watch ,I admire the ability to step onto a platform and perform as though they were born dancing. The leis, hakus and costumes can take time and money.

Pain and hours and hours of practice is all behind them now as they immerse themselves into the past.

It is time for the Hula Oni e competition 2013 at the Hilton Hawaiian resort.

IMG_2281They aren’t just beautiful and graceful, they ARE the hula. In deep concentration, aware of every move, the face betrays none of this but relaxes as it tells the story.

IMG_1923My grandson has been dancing for about 3 years now and enjoys every step he makes. He has poise and confidence and executes his moves perfectly.

When his and other  performances are done  pockets of  audience disappear. We’ve managed to get our photos. I’ve managed to get back up with my camera from my kneeling position without falling over. I join the exodus. The families, excited, file out the doors and down the hall to greet and hug their kids and add their, “job well done.”

In the past I’ve tried to show some of the behind the scenes as well as types of performances watched. But this year seemed different. As families and friends we have come together now for a few years to watch. In doing so we’ve grown more and more involved as we see the kids mature and grow in their art.

So I thought I would share the love and pride that is shown among families and friends back stage. There are also a few behind the scenes shots that I thought were colorful.

IMG_2124

While waiting to perform these two boys kept each other entertained. “I’ll take a photo of  you then……IMG_2123you take a photo of me.”

IMG_2256

completely dressed to perform but keeping warm while they wait.

IMG_2131

These girls might have been from Japan as groups do come over from there to compete. They are concentrating on something. It might not even be performance related

IMG_2018

These young girls were adorable. They may even be related. But they were all dressed up and waiting and family started to take photos so I did too.

IMG_2014

I took a photo of these two as no one had a camera so I photographed them for one of the relatives and emailed it to them.

IMG_2135

This guy was relaxing with a cool drink of water and wearing his socks. I love photos that are so out of context. It remind me of the admonition that entertainers are no different than us because they have to put their pants on one leg at a time. :-)

IMG_2138Then when I went back into the auditorium to watch more hula here was the guy who was drinking water. He got up their as cool as could be and gave a powerful, solo performance.IMG_2251

This guy was posing and having a lot of fun while waiting to go on

 

IMG_2364

The kids are close in each halau as close as family and they gravitate to each other after their performances.

IMG_2335

The grandparents grab the kids making sure to get their photos together.IMG_2318

These two siblings compete in the hula and with each other.IMG_2314

Mom and auntie’s turn to poseIMG_2309

 

Grandma has something special  for her girl.( I just love how beautiful and long  Kili’s hair is gettingIMG_2023Proud fatherIMG_2079

By now the kids are getting tired and want to be with their friends but wait. There are more grandparentsIMG_2043

 

And Dad wants a photo with his sonIMG_2030

Mom is back again with both kids nowIMG_2239

And even the mentor who helped my grandson to stay on track throughout the competition steps inIMG_2247

and though my grandson has on his hat and is ready to make it he has still more family that wants those photos.IMG_2234And last but not least I manage to get  into one shot, all washed out from running around trying to take everyone’s photo.

but that’s what family is about and we support the kids in their endeavors. But families here in Hawaii extend beyond blood.IMG_2075

 

The most important family in hula life is the Kumu. You can see the admiration for kumu Snowbird on Kili’s face.IMG_2049

And of course there are the hula sistersIMG_2227And the hula brothers.IMG_2353

And the very touching love of friends.

I’ve said it before but I can’t say it enough. What touched me most about living in Hawaii is how much children are loved. They, are to be seen, and they, are to be heard.

7 comments on “Hula And the Family, Hula Oni E 2013

  1. Dean michael greer says:

    Beautiful & precious. Making great memories, learning discipline, history, art and being gorgeous at the same time. Might even be a step up on stealing hub caps in Linda Mar, ha, ha. Good job Karen!

    • Thanks Dean. Now that I’ve dropped facebook I seem to be out of the loop. It is good to hear from you even if its about what you up to when no one was looking.

      I never thought you two would ever do that. I’m not sure if I knew you. Did I live up the street? Was that your doppelganger I hung out with? :-)

  2. Annelies says:

    I love to read your stories, and the pictures of you lovely family!
    Miss you on FB, and the e-mail adress you once gave me failled….. What happened? Miss you!

    Annelies

  3. Jodie Gracey says:

    Really enjoyed the wonderful photos of everyone, you have a beautiful family!

  4. Wonderful pictures of these lovely dancers. Looks good for the future of the traditions.

Leave a Reply

